The Henry and Sallie Pusey Best Paper Award

The MFPT Society annually recognizes the best paper presented at the MFPT conference by awarding the author(s) the Henry and Sallie Pusey Best Paper Award. The paper is selected for this top honor from all the papers submitted and is judged to be the best paper by peer professionals. The Best Paper exemplifies the highest levels of excellence in technical contribution, clarity, and professionalism. The award recognizes the significant contribution of Henry and Sallie Pusey to MFPT over many years.

The following papers have been awarded the Henry and Sallie Pusey Best Paper Award:

“Peculiar Cases of Pinion Vibration in Parallel Shaft Double Helical Gear Units– Identification and Mitigation”
| Mantosh Bhattacharya, Petrofac

“A Peer-Based Health Monitoring Approach for Rolling Element Bearings – A Steel Manufacturing Case Study”
| David Siegel, Shanhu Yang, and Edzel Lapira, Predictronics Corp

“Detection of Spiral Bevel Gear Damage Modes Using Oil Debris Particle Distributions”
| Paula Dempsey and Robert Handschuh, NASA Glenn Research Center

“Investigation and Evaluation of Condition Indicators, Variable Selection, and Health Indication Methods and Algorithms for Rotorcraft Gear Components”
|David Siegel and Jay Lee, Center for Intelligent Maintenance Systems, University of Cincinnati and Paula Dempsey, NASA Glenn Research Center

“Rotating Machinery Diagnosis using Synchro-Squeezing Transform Based Feature Analysis”
| Budhaditya Hazra and Sriram Narasimhan University of Waterloo, in Canada

“A Process for Data Driven Prognostics”
| Eric Bechhoefer, NRG Systems and David He, University of Illinois at Chicago

“The Effect of Speed Variations on Machinery Vibrational Analysis”
| Joseph Sheeley and Frank Steinle, Aerospace Testing Alliance, Arnold AFB

“A Survey of Rotating Machinery Condition Indicators”
| Cory Duggin and Joe Sheeley, Aerospace Testing Alliance, Arnold AFB

“Structural Health Monitoring of Large Scale Composite Structures using the Structural Irregularity and Damage Evaluation Routine”
| Roger M Crane, US Naval Surface Warfare Center, Carderock Division, and Colin P Ratcliffe, US Naval Academy Mechanical Engineering Department

“Prognostics of Electronics Under Vibration Using Acceleration Sensors”
| Jie Gu, Donald Barker, and Michael Pecht of the Center for Advanced Life Cycle Engineering (CALCE), University of Maryland

“Agent-based Health Monitoring Architecture for Power Systems”
| Guangfan Zhang, Bulent Ayhan, Roger Xu, Margaret Lyell, William Krueger, and Leonard Haynes of Intelligent Automation Inc.